Happiness

Hey guys,

this blog post is a lil different because I’ve been feeling a lil different lately. It’s the summer and as I’ve mentioned I’m moving into a new chapter in my life, one that I haven’t fully figured out yet. I say fully leniently, as I truly have no idea what’s next for me. So far it’s been a bit of a hard summer-I’ve received countless rejections from hopeful job positions, and some punches in terms of what I thought would be viable options for future education. I also feel a bit ostracized-a lot of my friends are not around, or I simply haven’t been hanging out with them lately. I’m either in my apartment alone or at my parent’s place feeling even more alone. I think it’s just a combination of a lot of little things that have piled on and made me feel discouraged and generally down about life currently.

I wanted to post about the things  I do to try and keep the faith, to keep going when I don’t see the point to or feel like doing so. It’s hard, and everyone has these days. But there are ways that can help, or that at least help me-so I wanted to share them in case they can help. There’s nothing profound in here; just the small things that help me from falling into the pit of despair and existentialism.

The first thing I try to do is find something in each day that was worthwhile. This can sometimes come back at me, as there are days where I don’t do a single thing that I consider worthwhile. It can be the littlest thing, and I am learning to be okay with it. Everyday does not have to be some amazing, creative journey. It’s okay for that worthwhile thing to be an episode of a show you love, or getting to pet your dog, or anything that made you the slightest bit happy. I k now there are days where I succumb to the feeling, and that is another technique that I think is okay for coping which is simply dealing with it for a given amount of time. I turn off the lights, lay in bed, and just let it take over for a bit. I always calm down afterwards with a bath, accompanied with a good book and some relaxing songs from my Spotify playlist. I love reading when I feel down-it’s one of the only things that can take my mind completely off the feeling. Getting lost from the world, even if its just for an hour or so, is a nice change of pace when you’re having a particularly dull stretch of life.

Sometimes, if I’m feeling up to it, I will simply just do my hair and make-up. This certainly isn’t for everyone, but when I get ready and look good, it can help make me feel good. This moves into the next thing I like to do, which is to get out of the house at least once a day. Even if I just drive 10 minutes down the road for some french fries and a Dr. Pepper, being outside and actually doing something can be a great cure for the blues. I always plan something nice for when I grab my food so I have something to look forward to. I decide to watch an episode of Shameless or binge some YouTube videos while I eat my food and it genuinely makes me feel better. I think part of my slump can come from feeling useless or not having any reach purpose in life at the moment. I have a weekend job and then on the weekdays, I definitely struggle to feel important to the world. Doing little things that I can recognize as goals or just little positive moments in the day are definitely worth the time.

My last helpful bit is this blog. When I feel like I’m not contributing to the world, I like to plan out a blog post and make myself do it. It makes me feel important, and heard. I love seeing that someone has liked or commented on it, it makes me feel like I have a reason to have gotten up in the morning. Even though my blog is minuscule, the fact that somebody acknowledges it or likes what I’ve posted is amazing to me and gives me motivation that there is a point and that I can get up everyday. It explains all the posts recently, as I have been in a slump since about my birthday. I am taking it everyday by finding a little piece of happiness in each day, which is often this blog. Thank you to those who read or enjoy or just like anything I’ve put out there, it means the world to me!

2 thoughts on “Happiness

  1. It sucks that you’re feeling this way and I can completely relate. I would try and look at the fact that you don’t have any immediate plans as a positive as you can explore things that make you happy. I decided that I was going to just work in a small bridal store for a while after university as it may not pay amazing but it’s something I think would make me really happy plus it’s something to focus on and look forward to every day. Also you can meet new people at work even if its a small job for now while you search for a ‘career’. This all may be completely useless but just know that you’re not alone with how you are feeling! Leaving education after all these years is a shock to the system but everything will work out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Setting goals is a big one for me. Also getting up early is another. I just feel important and motivated when I’m up at a decent time. I agree with the getting ready part. I feel like I have an awesome day when I’m looking all fab! Cheer up buttercup. You have all your blogging friends (including me) we care!🖐

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

